Bye Bye Comfort Zone

Standard

“I can’t believe it’s already August!”

I’ve been hearing this phrase quite a bit lately and it got me thinking: How many times do we say something along these lines? How often do we rush through a day, a week, a month, even a year and realize much later that time has slipped through our fingers? There are many types of people in this world. Some let time pass them by and are always searching for something, looking to the future for whatever goals they hope to achieve. Others simply go with the flow and live their lives day by day, hour by hour. Many of us, unfortunately, fall under the former category. Those who fall under the latter category are the ones I am well and truly jealous of. I’m not going to kid myself and our followers into thinking that I am a daredevil at heart. However, sometimes I do wish I was more carefree. And then I stop and ask myself, why can’t I be? What exactly is stopping me?

So this week, I have a task for you. Go do something. Anything. Now, before I go further, I’m not saying you should do something dangerous. Please be safe & responsible. We do want you to continue reading, following, and commenting after all ;p

But seriously, go and do something, as small as it may be, out of your comfort zone. Do something you’ve always wanted to but never did for whatever reason. Screw the schedule! Say hello or smile at that person you always pass by on your morning jog. You may just make their day. As cliche as I run the risk of sounding, stop and smell the roses. Splurge a little on lunch at that fancy restaurant you heard about. Buy that sweater you’ve had your eye on for months. Put yourself out there and introduce yourself to someone at work, school, or wherever you may be. And once you have completed this task, come back and tell us about it. How did it make you feel? Has a tiny yet significant weight been lifted off your shoulders? Do you feel more free?

This quote really exemplifies how I hope to live my life:

“Work for a cause, not for applause. Life life to express, not to impress. Don’t strive to make your presence noticed, just make your absence felt.” – Unknown

Now GO!

Intandesh

One thought on “Bye Bye Comfort Zone

  1. Howdy! I could have sworn I’ve visited your blog before but after looking at some of the articles I realized it’s new to me.
    Anyways, I’m certainly delighted I found it and I’ll be bookmarking
    it and checking back frequently!

Leave a Reply

